1st Lady Susanne Shore presents Daelyn Zagurski with her scholarship at a reception at the Governor’s Residence….

The Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs announced the awarding of two $2,500 scholarships at a youth leadership reception hosted at the Nebraska Governor’s Residence on Tuesday, June 4, 2019.  The recipients of the scholarships are Daelyn Zagurski (Winnebago) and James Brand (Oglala Sioux). 

Zagurski, a member of the Winnebago Tribe, plans on attending the University of Nebraska-Lincoln this fall, and Brand, a member of the Oglala Sioux Tribe, will graduate from Metro Community College in Omaha this spring and then plans on attending Nebraska Wesleyan in Lincoln this fall.

With the awarding of these two scholarships, the Nebraska Commission on Indian Affairs has now awarded 35 scholarships totaling $52,000.  The commission has nearly reached its endowment goal of $111,000, which when reached, will permanently fund the awarding of two $2,500 scholarships.